Dislikes Dislikes:  0

Thread: I really don’t want to stop squatting. Help please

1. #1 I really don’t want to stop squatting. Help please 
    Likes (Given)
    Likes (Received)
    Dislikes (Given)
    Dislikes (Received)
    Got a pretty serious problem… little bit of history first. I have been fatefully lifting recreational since I was 14, I’m now 57 that is 43 years, I did take a 15 year break 1995-2010 - life happened…

I’ve been back into it for the past 7 years, 5-6 days a week…I’m very happy with my current condition, but I’m starting to realize that I can’t do that heavy lifting any more. I have come to accept that if I can maintain what I have, I would be extremely happy..

So now the problem, exactly 2 year ago (Dec. 2015) I had been squatting 10 reps of 315 for six months then in Dec 2015 I was Squatting 315 (last set), Everything was good, and on my second or third rep I felt a POP and TEAR pain in the thigh area above the knee (VMO – Vastus Medialis). See red area in attached picture..

Lucky I was in a squat rack, because I went to the floor, my thigh totally gave out. I started seeing stars, and immediately went into shock. Went to hospital and was told I either just tore a muscle or stretched it out..

After several weeks of very gentle stretching, I started squatting with an empty Olympic Bar and very gradually build up over the next 6 months back up to 225. I was happy with 225 and at my age I was content with not going any heavier.

It’s now 2 years later and last Saturday it was squat day, for my last set I was squatting 225. I lifted the bar off the rack and started to go down, I got about 20% into the first rep, and I started to feel that same pain in the VMO – Vastus Medialis. No POP, but more of a tear feeling, I racked the bar and limped off.

The injury was not as severe as the first time, but it’s exactly the same location…bad enough that I probaly will not be squatting for several weeks at least.