What's new

Water loading....

Jericho

Rookie
... I'm having to cut weight for a BJJ comp at the weekend. I've competed a few times before without worrying about my weight, but the gap is too big this time.
I'm currently walking around at 171lbs, and need to be around 164lbs by Saturday. I need to weight 168lb on Saturday morning, wearing my gi (approx 4lbs).
I'm trying a water load; 2 gallons yesterday, 2 today. Tomorrow will be tough as I'm flying to Toronto, but will aim for a gallon. I'm flying back on Friday, which i was planning to use to keep my water low. Already reduced my carbs.

Again, i'm a noob at this, but any idea how much weight i can expect to drop by Friday?
If i miss weight, i'm in the 185lbs bracket, which really means I'm probably competing against guys who are cutting from 190+.

Many thanks!

Goldenrod

Rookie
... I'm having to cut weight for a BJJ comp at the weekend. I've competed a few times before without worrying about my weight, but the gap is too big this time.
I'm currently walking around at 171lbs, and need to be around 164lbs by Saturday. I need to weight 168lb on Saturday morning, wearing my gi (approx 4lbs).
I'm trying a water load; 2 gallons yesterday, 2 today. Tomorrow will be tough as I'm flying to Toronto, but will aim for a gallon. I'm flying back on Friday, which i was planning to use to keep my water low. Already reduced my carbs.

Again, i'm a noob at this, but any idea how much weight i can expect to drop by Friday?
If i miss weight, i'm in the 185lbs bracket, which really means I'm probably competing against guys who are cutting from 190+.

Many thanks!
You must know this but fighters cut weight in saunas fo get the water out of them since that is mostly what we are. I’m no expert, but i read articles about guys torturing themselves in saunas with sips of water. Other guys get colonic - yes colonics to drop pounds.

Jericho

Rookie
Yeah, i'm aware of all that; those guys are dropping 30+lbs in a week.